April 17th to April 22nd, 2017

“What’d you do last week, Clare?”

Well, I have trouble remembering or visualizing anything beyond twelve hours in either temporal direction, so let’s just say I very much enjoyed the park yesterday. Oh, and the Juicero story. That was a delight.

Ijeoma Oluo’s interview with Rachel Dolezal is the last thing we should ever produce, as a culture, involving Dolezal, and it is a masterful piece that’s thoughtful even as it dismantles Dolezal’s seriously messed up thinking on race.

The Handmaid’s Tale is just as much as a cautionary tale to conservative women as it is to liberal women. In the age of Trump, it’s helpful to remember—your complicity will not save you.

Julia Baird’s piece on sexism in Christian theology and practice really made me wonder about the ways in which faith is compatible and not compatible with progress. It’s a topic I know precious little about, having been raised religiously feral, but I’ve been chewing over more and more lately…

2 thoughts on “April 17th to April 22nd, 2017”

  1. Oh oh I can answer the faith question! I know this one! The answer is that faith is compatible with anything the people practicing it want it to be compatible with it because SECRETLY nobody is really drawing their morals from their faith, we are all bringing our morals TO our faith and then finding ways to make the texts and doctrines of our faith support what we wanted to believe anyway. THUMBS UP EMOJI GLAD I COULD HELP. Hashtag feminist Catholicism. :p

    Like

    1. Thanks for sharing that perspective. Can I follow up with you on it? I have a feeling my total lack of religious education’s making me miss a step here…

      Like

Leave a Reply

