October 31st to November 5th, 2016

Forbidden Planet: Doctor Who SlashDaylight Savings Time: what are you gonna do?

Normally, I only like to put links here if I have something to say about them, but I’m going to make an exception for Taffy Brodesser-Akner’s The New York Times’ Magazine piece on Kesha. I have a lot of love in my heart for Kesha (I have an Anka print of her that I need to frame), and reading about her struggles to not only self-actualize as an artist but also just function as an artist given her legal situation made me cry. I really want to hear “Rainbow.”

This Atlas Obscura article on the evolution of the man cave really resonated with me—specifically, how it points out that the man cave is often coded as sacred, masculine space while the rest of the home is coded as communal, feminine space. This is an issue I dealt with a lot growing up; the assumption that feminine space was the same as communal space, which can be a very damaging assumption to make.

I did, with my college comedy troupe, watch Minions to riff, which was an exercise in utter madness. (I spent the beginning of the second act losing my damn mind, judging by how much I was yelling.) Where does one start? The fact that it’s set in the sixties, despite the fact that its target demographic is little kids with thirty year old parents? The awkward workaround to avoid implying that the Minions, who instinctively serve the worst person they can find, were, at best, Nazi sympathizers? The sloppy wall to wall slapstick violence? The hot tub scene with one Minion and two yellow fire hydrants? Sometimes, you need a bad movie to riff. Other times, you need a bad movie to riff and also boggle your mind. This is the latter.

Still, it does have an amazing animated take on a young Queen Elizabeth, so, you know, cheers!

Leave a Reply

