August 21st to August 27th, 2016

66th Street–Lincoln Center: MuralFlame Con, as I’ve reported at Lady Business, was wonderful. I think I’ve forgotten how important it is to physically be in the same place as other queer geeks, since that’s not something I’m used to.

In college, I took a biology class as my science requirement. During that semester, we had an expert on environmentalism come in to talk to us. We were told to prepare questions for her, and I was quite pleased about mine, which asked what low-income families can do to reduce their carbon footprint. Unfortunately, she responded flippantly—I seem to recall it was something along the lines of it not being something they would care about. It was disheartening to say the least.

I was reminded of this when I found Leanne Brown’s Good and Cheap, a Creative Commons licensed cookbook aimed specifically at providing recipes and cooking resources for low-income families. Brown’s work is, despite being in another field, the opposite of that guest speaker—inviting people to a conversation by offering tools expressly made for them.

As the Internet bids farewell to Gawker, a lot of reading lists of their greatest hits has been cropping up. This is how I discovered the previously unknown to me “The Best Restaurant in the World Is: Disney’s Epcot Theme Park“, wherein Rich Juzwiak and the amazing Caity Weaver tour the food and rides of Epcot. Having never been to Disney World or Disney Land, I’m fascinated by the parks. I’m also always a big fan of Weaver’s writing.

I also finished the first collected volume of Spider-Gwen, which I loved. There’s a lot to say about it, but I wanted to touch on the conversation Aunt May and Gwen have about Spider-Woman’s responsibility in Peter’s death. First, having these two female characters so often put in peril for Peter to react to talk about this felt like such a breath of fresh air. And two, it allowed us to see that Aunt May’s stance on Spider-Woman had evolved, not secretly always been positive. It was definitely a highlight for me.

2 thoughts on “August 21st to August 27th, 2016”

  1. Spider-Gwen! I need to read it! I bookmarked it for myself in recent memory, read it at the airport on a day when I had had no coffee, and immediately forgot everything about it. Spider-Gwen is not at fault here; the fault was entirely mine, but I do want to pick it back up and see what’s what. My allegiance to Gwen Stacy is of very very VERY long standing, so it seems made for me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

